Best AI Advisory Services

KPMG vs RTS Labs: full comparison for 2026

Quick verdict

KPMG (4.6/5) edges ahead of RTS Labs (3.7/5) overall. KPMG is the better choice for regulated firms needing audit-grade AI governance. RTS Labs is the stronger option for small US firms testing one idea cheaply. The right choice depends on how independent you need the advice to be, your regulatory exposure, and your budget.

KPMG vs RTS Labs: head-to-head summary

Criterion KPMG RTS Labs
Founded 1987 2010
HQ London, UK (KPMG International) Glen Allen, USA
Team size 275,000+ 100+
Rating 4.6 / 5 3.7 / 5
Primary differentiator Governance and assurance depth, backed by its own ISO/IEC 42001-certified AI management system The cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks
Pricing model Engagement fees per scope; rates not published Fixed-scope feasibility work; $25–$49/hr (Clutch band)
Min. engagement Not disclosed $5,000+ (Clutch)
Primary tech stack EU AI Act, ISO/IEC 42001, NIST AI RMF AWS, Azure, Python
Industries served Banking, Insurance, Public sector, Healthcare, Energy, Manufacturing Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing

KPMG vs RTS Labs: overview

KPMG

KPMG was formed in 1987 through the merger of Peat Marwick International and Klynveld Main Goerdeler, and its member firms employ around 275,000 people. In December 2025 KPMG International announced ISO/IEC 42001 certification for its own AI management system, audited by Schellman; member firms in Australia, Spain, India, and the US had certified earlier. Its Trusted AI approach covers governance design, risk classification under the EU AI Act, controls testing, and assurance. For a CFO or chief risk officer who needs advice that an audit committee will accept, few firms have a larger bench. Auditor-independence rules can bar it from advising its own audit clients. Check that first.

RTS Labs

RTS Labs, near Richmond, Virginia, says it has 100+ US-based staff (per company website; independently unverifiable); it gives 2010 as its founding year while Clutch lists 2012. Its advice comes as feasibility studies and proofs of concept with a return-on-investment check, instead of roadmaps. Clutch lists $25–$49 an hour and a $5,000+ minimum, the cheapest way on this page to test whether one idea works.

Services and capabilities: KPMG vs RTS Labs

Capability KPMG RTS Labs
Readiness assessment ✓ ✓
Use-case prioritization ✗ ✗
TCO / ROI modeling ✓ ✓
AI governance & EU AI Act ✓ ✗
Build vs. buy advice ✗ ✗
Independent audit or assurance ✓ ✗
Roadmap any vendor can implement ✗ ✗
Delivery capability after advice ✓ ✓

Frameworks and platforms: KPMG vs RTS Labs

Framework / platform KPMG RTS Labs
EU AI Act ✓ N/A
GDPR ✓ N/A
DORA ✓ N/A
NIST AI RMF ✓ N/A
ISO/IEC 42001 ✓ N/A
Azure ✓ ✓
AWS N/A ✓
Google Cloud N/A N/A

Pricing comparison: KPMG vs RTS Labs

Criterion KPMG RTS Labs
Minimum engagement Not disclosed $5,000+ (Clutch)
Engagement models Fixed-scope assessment, Multi-use-case advisory, Audit or certification, Delivery team Fixed-scope assessment, Delivery team
Rate transparency Not public Minimum disclosed
Price tier Mid-market Accessible

Target audience comparison: KPMG vs RTS Labs

Dimension KPMG RTS Labs
Best company size Enterprise Startup to mid-market
Best industries Banking, Insurance, Public sector Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare
Best use cases Designing an AI governance framework that an audit committee will sign off., Classifying an AI portfolio under the EU AI Act across several countries. Testing one AI idea cheaply., Return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal.
Typical project type Fixed-scope assessment Fixed-scope assessment

KPMG vs RTS Labs: pros and cons

KPMG
+ Runs its own certified AI management system, so it advises from first-hand experience of ISO/IEC 42001
+ Risk, audit, and regulatory specialists work in one network
+ Can carry governance work across dozens of countries
+ Assurance work is set up to satisfy audit committees and regulators
- Auditor-independence rules may stop it advising its own audit clients
- Fees and team sizes suit large organizations more than mid-size ones
- The same network sells implementation, so ask how advice and delivery are separated
RTS Labs
+ A $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest here
+ Tests ideas on real data
+ Return-on-investment check included
- No portfolio-level planning
- No EU regulatory work
- Founding year and headcount vary between sources

Who should choose KPMG?

A typical fit: designing an AI governance framework that an audit committee will sign off.

Governance and assurance depth, backed by its own ISO/IEC 42001-certified AI management system. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Banking, Insurance, Public sector, Healthcare, Energy, Manufacturing.

Who should choose RTS Labs?

A typical fit: testing one AI idea cheaply.

The cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks. Minimum engagement starts at $5,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing.

Decision matrix: KPMG vs RTS Labs

Your situation Recommended choice
You want advice with no build contract attached Neither; write the build as a separate decision
Finance needs run costs before approving anything Both model cost of ownership
Some of your use cases may be high-risk under the EU AI Act KPMG
You need an outside check on a system already built KPMG
You want the same firm to build what it recommends Both can deliver
Your budget is at the lower end Compare: KPMG (Not disclosed) vs RTS Labs ($5,000+ (Clutch))
You need advisers in many countries at once KPMG

Use case fit: KPMG vs RTS Labs

Use case KPMG fit RTS Labs fit Winner
Designing an AI governance framework that an audit committee will sign off. Strong Limited KPMG
Classifying an AI portfolio under the EU AI Act across several countries. Strong Limited KPMG
Testing one AI idea cheaply. Limited Strong RTS Labs
Return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. Limited Strong RTS Labs

Verdict: KPMG vs RTS Labs

KPMG (4.6/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Advisory projects. Governance and assurance depth, backed by its own ISO/IEC 42001-certified AI management system.

RTS Labs (3.7/5) is worth a look if you need return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. If your situation matches that, RTS Labs is a competitive option.

Related comparisons

KPMG vs RTS Labs FAQ

Is KPMG better than RTS Labs?

KPMG (4.6/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. KPMG's strongest advantage: runs its own certified AI management system, so it advises from first-hand experience of ISO/IEC 42001. RTS Labs's strongest advantage: a $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest here.

How do KPMG and RTS Labs differ in pricing?

KPMG's pricing: engagement fees per scope; rates not published. RTS Labs's pricing: fixed-scope feasibility work; $25–$49/hr (Clutch band) with a minimum engagement of $5,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.

Which is better for enterprise: KPMG or RTS Labs?

KPMG is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each firm before shortlisting.

What are the main differences between KPMG and RTS Labs?

KPMG's primary differentiator is: governance and assurance depth, backed by its own ISO/IEC 42001-certified AI management system. RTS Labs's primary differentiator is: the cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks. They also differ in team size (275,000+ vs 100+), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $5,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Banking, Insurance vs Logistics, Financial services).

Verify all details directly with each firm before making a decision.