PwC vs RTS Labs: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
PwC (4.4/5) edges ahead of RTS Labs (3.7/5) overall. PwC is the better choice for multinationals mapping AI Act duties with other EU rules. RTS Labs is the stronger option for small US firms testing one idea cheaply. The right choice depends on how independent you need the advice to be, your regulatory exposure, and your budget.
PwC vs RTS Labs: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | PwC | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 1998 | 2010 |
| HQ | London, UK | Glen Allen, USA |
| Team size | 370,000+ | 100+ |
| Rating | 4.4 / 5 | 3.7 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | EU AI Act compliance planned alongside DORA, GDPR, and NIS2 in one program | The cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks |
| Pricing model | Engagement fees per scope; rates not published | Fixed-scope feasibility work; $25–$49/hr (Clutch band) |
| Min. engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Primary tech stack | EU AI Act, DORA, GDPR | AWS, Azure, Python |
| Industries served | Banking, Insurance, Healthcare, Public sector, Energy, Telecom | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing |
PwC vs RTS Labs: overview
PwC
PwC's network took its current form through a 1998 merger and today employs roughly 370,000 people. Its Responsible AI practice, led in Germany by partner Hendrik Reese, helps clients inventory and classify AI systems, run gap analyses, and plan compliance across the EU AI Act, DORA, GDPR, and NIS2. Standards work covers ISO/IEC 42001 and the NIST AI Risk Management Framework. PwC also tests client chatbots for accuracy and bias, an early step toward formal AI assurance. Like the other Big Four, it sells delivery as well as advice.
RTS Labs
RTS Labs, near Richmond, Virginia, says it has 100+ US-based staff (per company website; independently unverifiable); it gives 2010 as its founding year while Clutch lists 2012. Its advice comes as feasibility studies and proofs of concept with a return-on-investment check, instead of roadmaps. Clutch lists $25–$49 an hour and a $5,000+ minimum, the cheapest way on this page to test whether one idea works.
Services and capabilities: PwC vs RTS Labs
| Capability | PwC | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Readiness assessment | ✓ | ✓ |
| Use-case prioritization | ✗ | ✗ |
| TCO / ROI modeling | ✗ | ✓ |
| AI governance & EU AI Act | ✓ | ✗ |
| Build vs. buy advice | ✗ | ✗ |
| Independent audit or assurance | ✓ | ✗ |
| Roadmap any vendor can implement | ✗ | ✗ |
| Delivery capability after advice | ✓ | ✓ |
Frameworks and platforms: PwC vs RTS Labs
| Framework / platform | PwC | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| EU AI Act | ✓ | N/A |
| GDPR | ✓ | N/A |
| DORA | ✓ | N/A |
| NIST AI RMF | ✓ | N/A |
| ISO/IEC 42001 | ✓ | N/A |
| Azure | N/A | ✓ |
| AWS | N/A | ✓ |
| Google Cloud | N/A | N/A |
Pricing comparison: PwC vs RTS Labs
| Criterion | PwC | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Engagement models | Fixed-scope assessment, Multi-use-case advisory, Audit or certification, Delivery team | Fixed-scope assessment, Delivery team |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Minimum disclosed |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Accessible |
Target audience comparison: PwC vs RTS Labs
| Dimension | PwC | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Enterprise | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Banking, Insurance, Healthcare | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare |
| Best use cases | Building an AI inventory and classifying each system under the AI Act., Joint compliance planning for the AI Act and DORA at a bank. | Testing one AI idea cheaply., Return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. |
| Typical project type | Fixed-scope assessment | Fixed-scope assessment |
PwC vs RTS Labs: pros and cons
| PwC | |
|---|---|
| + | Treats the AI Act together with DORA, GDPR, and NIS2, which saves duplicate compliance work |
| + | Inventory and risk-classification method for large AI portfolios |
| + | Tests chatbots for accuracy and bias |
| + | Strong German and Central European presence |
| - | Big Four pricing puts it out of reach for most mid-size firms |
| - | Sells implementation too, so independence of the advice needs checking |
| - | Audit-client restrictions can limit what it may sell you |
| RTS Labs | |
|---|---|
| + | A $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest here |
| + | Tests ideas on real data |
| + | Return-on-investment check included |
| - | No portfolio-level planning |
| - | No EU regulatory work |
| - | Founding year and headcount vary between sources |
Who should choose PwC?
A typical fit: building an AI inventory and classifying each system under the AI Act.
EU AI Act compliance planned alongside DORA, GDPR, and NIS2 in one program. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Banking, Insurance, Healthcare, Public sector, Energy, Telecom.
Who should choose RTS Labs?
A typical fit: testing one AI idea cheaply.
The cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks. Minimum engagement starts at $5,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing.
Decision matrix: PwC vs RTS Labs
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| You want advice with no build contract attached | Neither; write the build as a separate decision |
| Finance needs run costs before approving anything | RTS Labs |
| Some of your use cases may be high-risk under the EU AI Act | PwC |
| You need an outside check on a system already built | PwC |
| You want the same firm to build what it recommends | Both can deliver |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: PwC (Not disclosed) vs RTS Labs ($5,000+ (Clutch)) |
| You need advisers in many countries at once | PwC |
Use case fit: PwC vs RTS Labs
| Use case | PwC fit | RTS Labs fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Building an AI inventory and classifying each system under the AI Act. | Strong | Limited | PwC |
| Joint compliance planning for the AI Act and DORA at a bank. | Strong | Limited | PwC |
| Testing one AI idea cheaply. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
| Return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
Verdict: PwC vs RTS Labs
PwC (4.4/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Advisory projects. EU AI Act compliance planned alongside DORA, GDPR, and NIS2 in one program.
RTS Labs (3.7/5) is worth a look if you need return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. If your situation matches that, RTS Labs is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
PwC vs RTS Labs FAQ
Is PwC better than RTS Labs?
PwC (4.4/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. PwC's strongest advantage: treats the AI Act together with DORA, GDPR, and NIS2, which saves duplicate compliance work. RTS Labs's strongest advantage: a $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest here.
How do PwC and RTS Labs differ in pricing?
PwC's pricing: engagement fees per scope; rates not published. RTS Labs's pricing: fixed-scope feasibility work; $25–$49/hr (Clutch band) with a minimum engagement of $5,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.
Which is better for enterprise: PwC or RTS Labs?
PwC is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each firm before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between PwC and RTS Labs?
PwC's primary differentiator is: EU AI Act compliance planned alongside DORA, GDPR, and NIS2 in one program. RTS Labs's primary differentiator is: the cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks. They also differ in team size (370,000+ vs 100+), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $5,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Banking, Insurance vs Logistics, Financial services).
Verify all details directly with each firm before making a decision.