Best AI Advisory Services

BABL AI vs RTS Labs: full comparison for 2026

Quick verdict

BABL AI (4.1/5) edges ahead of RTS Labs (3.7/5) overall. BABL AI is the better choice for companies needing an independent third-party AI audit. RTS Labs is the stronger option for small US firms testing one idea cheaply. The right choice depends on how independent you need the advice to be, your regulatory exposure, and your budget.

BABL AI vs RTS Labs: head-to-head summary

Criterion BABL AI RTS Labs
Founded 2018 2010
HQ Iowa City, USA Glen Allen, USA
Team size 1–50 100+
Rating 4.1 / 5 3.7 / 5
Primary differentiator Criteria-based third-party AI audits, separate from any design or build work The cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks
Pricing model Audit fees per system; rates on request Fixed-scope feasibility work; $25–$49/hr (Clutch band)
Min. engagement Not disclosed $5,000+ (Clutch)
Primary tech stack EU AI Act, NIST AI RMF, NYC Local Law 144 AWS, Azure, Python
Industries served Human resources tech, Financial services, Healthcare, Technology Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing

BABL AI vs RTS Labs: overview

BABL AI

BABL AI was founded in 2018 in Iowa City by astrophysicist turned auditor Shea Brown, a founding member of the International Association of Algorithmic Auditors. It runs independent, criteria-based audits and certifications, starting with automated hiring tools and now covering EU AI Act risk management. It also trains auditors through its own courses. The firm is small, and its strength is a clean separation between whoever built the system and whoever checks it.

RTS Labs

RTS Labs, near Richmond, Virginia, says it has 100+ US-based staff (per company website; independently unverifiable); it gives 2010 as its founding year while Clutch lists 2012. Its advice comes as feasibility studies and proofs of concept with a return-on-investment check, instead of roadmaps. Clutch lists $25–$49 an hour and a $5,000+ minimum, the cheapest way on this page to test whether one idea works.

Services and capabilities: BABL AI vs RTS Labs

Capability BABL AI RTS Labs
Readiness assessment ✗ ✓
Use-case prioritization ✗ ✗
TCO / ROI modeling ✗ ✓
AI governance & EU AI Act ✓ ✗
Build vs. buy advice ✗ ✗
Independent audit or assurance ✓ ✗
Roadmap any vendor can implement ✗ ✗
Delivery capability after advice ✗ ✓

Frameworks and platforms: BABL AI vs RTS Labs

Framework / platform BABL AI RTS Labs
EU AI Act ✓ N/A
GDPR N/A N/A
DORA N/A N/A
NIST AI RMF ✓ N/A
ISO/IEC 42001 N/A N/A
Azure N/A ✓
AWS N/A ✓
Google Cloud N/A N/A

Pricing comparison: BABL AI vs RTS Labs

Criterion BABL AI RTS Labs
Minimum engagement Not disclosed $5,000+ (Clutch)
Engagement models Audit or certification, Fixed-scope assessment Fixed-scope assessment, Delivery team
Rate transparency Not public Minimum disclosed
Price tier Mid-market Accessible

Target audience comparison: BABL AI vs RTS Labs

Dimension BABL AI RTS Labs
Best company size Startup to mid-market Startup to mid-market
Best industries Human resources tech, Financial services, Healthcare Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare
Best use cases Bias audits of hiring and HR tools., Third-party checks of AI Act risk management. Testing one AI idea cheaply., Return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal.
Typical project type Audit or certification Fixed-scope assessment

BABL AI vs RTS Labs: pros and cons

BABL AI
+ Audits only, with no system design to protect
+ Experience with bias audits of hiring tools
+ Trains and certifies auditors
- Small firm with limited capacity
- US-based, with less European presence
- Doesn't help pick or plan use cases
RTS Labs
+ A $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest here
+ Tests ideas on real data
+ Return-on-investment check included
- No portfolio-level planning
- No EU regulatory work
- Founding year and headcount vary between sources

Who should choose BABL AI?

A typical fit: bias audits of hiring and HR tools.

Criteria-based third-party AI audits, separate from any design or build work. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Human resources tech, Financial services, Healthcare, Technology.

Who should choose RTS Labs?

A typical fit: testing one AI idea cheaply.

The cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks. Minimum engagement starts at $5,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing.

Decision matrix: BABL AI vs RTS Labs

Your situation Recommended choice
You want advice with no build contract attached BABL AI
Finance needs run costs before approving anything RTS Labs
Some of your use cases may be high-risk under the EU AI Act BABL AI
You need an outside check on a system already built BABL AI
You want the same firm to build what it recommends RTS Labs
Your budget is at the lower end Compare: BABL AI (Not disclosed) vs RTS Labs ($5,000+ (Clutch))
You need advisers in many countries at once RTS Labs

Use case fit: BABL AI vs RTS Labs

Use case BABL AI fit RTS Labs fit Winner
Bias audits of hiring and HR tools. Strong Limited BABL AI
Third-party checks of AI Act risk management. Strong Limited BABL AI
Testing one AI idea cheaply. Limited Strong RTS Labs
Return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. Limited Strong RTS Labs

Verdict: BABL AI vs RTS Labs

BABL AI (4.1/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Advisory projects. Criteria-based third-party AI audits, separate from any design or build work.

RTS Labs (3.7/5) is worth a look if you need return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. If your situation matches that, RTS Labs is a competitive option.

Related comparisons

BABL AI vs RTS Labs FAQ

Is BABL AI better than RTS Labs?

BABL AI (4.1/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. BABL AI's strongest advantage: audits only, with no system design to protect. RTS Labs's strongest advantage: a $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest here.

How do BABL AI and RTS Labs differ in pricing?

BABL AI's pricing: audit fees per system; rates on request. RTS Labs's pricing: fixed-scope feasibility work; $25–$49/hr (Clutch band) with a minimum engagement of $5,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.

Which is better for enterprise: BABL AI or RTS Labs?

RTS Labs is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each firm before shortlisting.

What are the main differences between BABL AI and RTS Labs?

BABL AI's primary differentiator is: criteria-based third-party AI audits, separate from any design or build work. RTS Labs's primary differentiator is: the cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks. They also differ in team size (1–50 vs 100+), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $5,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Human resources tech, Financial services vs Logistics, Financial services).

Verify all details directly with each firm before making a decision.