Elder Research vs RTS Labs: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
Elder Research (3.8/5) edges ahead of RTS Labs (3.7/5) overall. Elder Research is the better choice for US agencies wanting a data feasibility check. RTS Labs is the stronger option for small US firms testing one idea cheaply. The right choice depends on how independent you need the advice to be, your regulatory exposure, and your budget.
Elder Research vs RTS Labs: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | Elder Research | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 1995 | 2010 |
| HQ | Charlottesville, USA | Glen Allen, USA |
| Team size | ~170 | 100+ |
| Rating | 3.8 / 5 | 3.7 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Feasibility calls grounded in three decades of hands-on modeling | The cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks |
| Pricing model | Project fees; rates not published | Fixed-scope feasibility work; $25–$49/hr (Clutch band) |
| Min. engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Primary tech stack | Python, R, NIST AI RMF | AWS, Azure, Python |
| Industries served | Government & defense, Healthcare, Financial services, Insurance | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing |
Elder Research vs RTS Labs: overview
Elder Research
Elder Research has advised on analytics since 1995 from Charlottesville, Virginia, and has around 170 staff. ManTech, owned by Carlyle, bought it in December 2025. Its readiness work rests on decades of hands-on modeling, so its view on whether your data can support a use case is grounded in practice. European regulation is outside its usual territory.
RTS Labs
RTS Labs, near Richmond, Virginia, says it has 100+ US-based staff (per company website; independently unverifiable); it gives 2010 as its founding year while Clutch lists 2012. Its advice comes as feasibility studies and proofs of concept with a return-on-investment check, instead of roadmaps. Clutch lists $25–$49 an hour and a $5,000+ minimum, the cheapest way on this page to test whether one idea works.
Services and capabilities: Elder Research vs RTS Labs
| Capability | Elder Research | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Readiness assessment | ✓ | ✓ |
| Use-case prioritization | ✓ | ✗ |
| TCO / ROI modeling | ✗ | ✓ |
| AI governance & EU AI Act | ✗ | ✗ |
| Build vs. buy advice | ✗ | ✗ |
| Independent audit or assurance | ✗ | ✗ |
| Roadmap any vendor can implement | ✗ | ✗ |
| Delivery capability after advice | ✓ | ✓ |
Frameworks and platforms: Elder Research vs RTS Labs
| Framework / platform | Elder Research | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| EU AI Act | N/A | N/A |
| GDPR | N/A | N/A |
| DORA | N/A | N/A |
| NIST AI RMF | ✓ | N/A |
| ISO/IEC 42001 | N/A | N/A |
| Azure | N/A | ✓ |
| AWS | N/A | ✓ |
| Google Cloud | N/A | N/A |
Pricing comparison: Elder Research vs RTS Labs
| Criterion | Elder Research | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Engagement models | Fixed-scope assessment, Delivery team | Fixed-scope assessment, Delivery team |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Minimum disclosed |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Accessible |
Target audience comparison: Elder Research vs RTS Labs
| Dimension | Elder Research | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Startup to mid-market | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Government & defense, Healthcare, Financial services | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare |
| Best use cases | Checking whether data supports a proposed AI use case., Fraud analytics planning for agencies. | Testing one AI idea cheaply., Return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. |
| Typical project type | Fixed-scope assessment | Fixed-scope assessment |
Elder Research vs RTS Labs: pros and cons
| Elder Research | |
|---|---|
| + | Honest feasibility judgments based on long modeling experience |
| + | Training for analysts and managers |
| + | Strong US government record |
| - | Bought by ManTech (Carlyle) in December 2025, so its focus may shift to defense |
| - | Little EU regulatory work |
| - | Small advisory bench |
| RTS Labs | |
|---|---|
| + | A $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest here |
| + | Tests ideas on real data |
| + | Return-on-investment check included |
| - | No portfolio-level planning |
| - | No EU regulatory work |
| - | Founding year and headcount vary between sources |
Who should choose Elder Research?
A typical fit: checking whether data supports a proposed AI use case.
Feasibility calls grounded in three decades of hands-on modeling. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Government & defense, Healthcare, Financial services, Insurance.
Who should choose RTS Labs?
A typical fit: testing one AI idea cheaply.
The cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks. Minimum engagement starts at $5,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing.
Decision matrix: Elder Research vs RTS Labs
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| You want advice with no build contract attached | Neither; write the build as a separate decision |
| Finance needs run costs before approving anything | RTS Labs |
| Some of your use cases may be high-risk under the EU AI Act | Neither; add a governance specialist |
| You need an outside check on a system already built | Neither; use a dedicated auditor |
| You want the same firm to build what it recommends | Both can deliver |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: Elder Research (Not disclosed) vs RTS Labs ($5,000+ (Clutch)) |
| You need advisers in many countries at once | Elder Research |
Use case fit: Elder Research vs RTS Labs
| Use case | Elder Research fit | RTS Labs fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Checking whether data supports a proposed AI use case. | Strong | Limited | Elder Research |
| Fraud analytics planning for agencies. | Strong | Limited | Elder Research |
| Testing one AI idea cheaply. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
| Return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
Verdict: Elder Research vs RTS Labs
Elder Research (3.8/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Advisory projects. Feasibility calls grounded in three decades of hands-on modeling.
RTS Labs (3.7/5) is worth a look if you need return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. If your situation matches that, RTS Labs is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
Elder Research vs RTS Labs FAQ
Is Elder Research better than RTS Labs?
Elder Research (3.8/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Elder Research's strongest advantage: honest feasibility judgments based on long modeling experience. RTS Labs's strongest advantage: a $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest here.
How do Elder Research and RTS Labs differ in pricing?
Elder Research's pricing: project fees; rates not published. RTS Labs's pricing: fixed-scope feasibility work; $25–$49/hr (Clutch band) with a minimum engagement of $5,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.
Which is better for enterprise: Elder Research or RTS Labs?
Elder Research is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each firm before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between Elder Research and RTS Labs?
Elder Research's primary differentiator is: feasibility calls grounded in three decades of hands-on modeling. RTS Labs's primary differentiator is: the cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks. They also differ in team size (~170 vs 100+), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $5,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Government & defense, Healthcare vs Logistics, Financial services).
Verify all details directly with each firm before making a decision.