Best AI Advisory Services

Gartner vs RTS Labs: full comparison for 2026

Quick verdict

Gartner (4.2/5) edges ahead of RTS Labs (3.7/5) overall. Gartner is the better choice for CIOs and CDOs choosing AI vendors. RTS Labs is the stronger option for small US firms testing one idea cheaply. The right choice depends on how independent you need the advice to be, your regulatory exposure, and your budget.

Gartner vs RTS Labs: head-to-head summary

Criterion Gartner RTS Labs
Founded 1979 2010
HQ Stamford, USA Glen Allen, USA
Team size ~21,000 100+
Rating 4.2 / 5 3.7 / 5
Primary differentiator Analyst advice on AI vendors and governance with no implementation work to sell The cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks
Pricing model Annual research and advisory subscriptions; rates not published Fixed-scope feasibility work; $25–$49/hr (Clutch band)
Min. engagement Not disclosed $5,000+ (Clutch)
Primary tech stack NIST AI RMF, EU AI Act AWS, Azure, Python
Industries served Financial services, Public sector, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing

Gartner vs RTS Labs: overview

Gartner

Gartner was founded in 1979, is based in Stamford, Connecticut, and has around 21,000 employees. It sells research subscriptions and analyst access, and it doesn't implement anything, so its advice on AI vendors, build-or-buy choices, and governance carries no delivery sale. There is a catch. Technology vendors are also Gartner clients, and the advice is general research applied to your case more than a bespoke plan. CDOs and CIOs use it most for vendor selection and benchmarking.

RTS Labs

RTS Labs, near Richmond, Virginia, says it has 100+ US-based staff (per company website; independently unverifiable); it gives 2010 as its founding year while Clutch lists 2012. Its advice comes as feasibility studies and proofs of concept with a return-on-investment check, instead of roadmaps. Clutch lists $25–$49 an hour and a $5,000+ minimum, the cheapest way on this page to test whether one idea works.

Services and capabilities: Gartner vs RTS Labs

Capability Gartner RTS Labs
Readiness assessment ✗ ✓
Use-case prioritization ✗ ✗
TCO / ROI modeling ✗ ✓
AI governance & EU AI Act ✓ ✗
Build vs. buy advice ✓ ✗
Independent audit or assurance ✗ ✗
Roadmap any vendor can implement ✓ ✗
Delivery capability after advice ✗ ✓

Frameworks and platforms: Gartner vs RTS Labs

Framework / platform Gartner RTS Labs
EU AI Act ✓ N/A
GDPR N/A N/A
DORA N/A N/A
NIST AI RMF ✓ N/A
ISO/IEC 42001 N/A N/A
Azure N/A ✓
AWS N/A ✓
Google Cloud N/A N/A

Pricing comparison: Gartner vs RTS Labs

Criterion Gartner RTS Labs
Minimum engagement Not disclosed $5,000+ (Clutch)
Engagement models Ongoing advisory Fixed-scope assessment, Delivery team
Rate transparency Not public Minimum disclosed
Price tier Mid-market Accessible

Target audience comparison: Gartner vs RTS Labs

Dimension Gartner RTS Labs
Best company size Enterprise Startup to mid-market
Best industries Financial services, Public sector, Healthcare Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare
Best use cases Shortlisting AI vendors before a purchase., Benchmarking AI spending against peers. Testing one AI idea cheaply., Return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal.
Typical project type Ongoing advisory Fixed-scope assessment

Gartner vs RTS Labs: pros and cons

Gartner
+ Doesn't sell implementation, so no build contract follows the advice
+ Broad view of AI vendors and their pricing
+ Benchmarks against many peer organizations
- Technology vendors are also its clients
- Advice is research-based, without hands-on data work in your systems
- Subscription pricing is a fixed annual commitment
RTS Labs
+ A $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest here
+ Tests ideas on real data
+ Return-on-investment check included
- No portfolio-level planning
- No EU regulatory work
- Founding year and headcount vary between sources

Who should choose Gartner?

A typical fit: shortlisting AI vendors before a purchase.

Analyst advice on AI vendors and governance with no implementation work to sell. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Financial services, Public sector, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail.

Who should choose RTS Labs?

A typical fit: testing one AI idea cheaply.

The cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks. Minimum engagement starts at $5,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing.

Decision matrix: Gartner vs RTS Labs

Your situation Recommended choice
You want advice with no build contract attached Gartner
Finance needs run costs before approving anything RTS Labs
Some of your use cases may be high-risk under the EU AI Act Gartner
You need an outside check on a system already built Neither; use a dedicated auditor
You want the same firm to build what it recommends RTS Labs
Your budget is at the lower end Compare: Gartner (Not disclosed) vs RTS Labs ($5,000+ (Clutch))
You need advisers in many countries at once Gartner

Use case fit: Gartner vs RTS Labs

Use case Gartner fit RTS Labs fit Winner
Shortlisting AI vendors before a purchase. Strong Limited Gartner
Benchmarking AI spending against peers. Strong Limited Gartner
Testing one AI idea cheaply. Limited Strong RTS Labs
Return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. Limited Strong RTS Labs

Verdict: Gartner vs RTS Labs

Gartner (4.2/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Advisory projects. Analyst advice on AI vendors and governance with no implementation work to sell.

RTS Labs (3.7/5) is worth a look if you need return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. If your situation matches that, RTS Labs is a competitive option.

Related comparisons

Gartner vs RTS Labs FAQ

Is Gartner better than RTS Labs?

Gartner (4.2/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Gartner's strongest advantage: Doesn't sell implementation, so no build contract follows the advice. RTS Labs's strongest advantage: a $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest here.

How do Gartner and RTS Labs differ in pricing?

Gartner's pricing: annual research and advisory subscriptions; rates not published. RTS Labs's pricing: fixed-scope feasibility work; $25–$49/hr (Clutch band) with a minimum engagement of $5,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.

Which is better for enterprise: Gartner or RTS Labs?

Gartner is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each firm before shortlisting.

What are the main differences between Gartner and RTS Labs?

Gartner's primary differentiator is: analyst advice on AI vendors and governance with no implementation work to sell. RTS Labs's primary differentiator is: the cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks. They also differ in team size (~21,000 vs 100+), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $5,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Financial services, Public sector vs Logistics, Financial services).

Verify all details directly with each firm before making a decision.