Best AI Advisory Services

Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs: full comparison for 2026

Quick verdict

Thoughtworks (3.8/5) edges ahead of RTS Labs (3.7/5) overall. Thoughtworks is the better choice for CTOs judging build-or-buy on AI tooling. RTS Labs is the stronger option for small US firms testing one idea cheaply. The right choice depends on how independent you need the advice to be, your regulatory exposure, and your budget.

Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs: head-to-head summary

Criterion Thoughtworks RTS Labs
Founded 1993 2010
HQ Chicago, USA Glen Allen, USA
Team size ~10,000 100+
Rating 3.8 / 5 3.7 / 5
Primary differentiator Public Technology Radar and engineering-led build-or-buy advice The cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks
Pricing model Time & materials; rates not published Fixed-scope feasibility work; $25–$49/hr (Clutch band)
Min. engagement Not disclosed $5,000+ (Clutch)
Primary tech stack AWS, Azure, Google Cloud AWS, Azure, Python
Industries served Financial services, Retail, Healthcare, Public sector Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing

Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs: overview

Thoughtworks

Thoughtworks has around 10,000 people and has been based in Chicago since 1993. Apax took it private in a deal announced in August 2024, and a 2026 joint venture with New York advisory firm Teneo aims to strengthen its business advice. Its own advice is strongest on software and data foundations, and its public Technology Radar shows how it judges tools before you hire it.

RTS Labs

RTS Labs, near Richmond, Virginia, says it has 100+ US-based staff (per company website; independently unverifiable); it gives 2010 as its founding year while Clutch lists 2012. Its advice comes as feasibility studies and proofs of concept with a return-on-investment check, instead of roadmaps. Clutch lists $25–$49 an hour and a $5,000+ minimum, the cheapest way on this page to test whether one idea works.

Services and capabilities: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs

Capability Thoughtworks RTS Labs
Readiness assessment ✗ ✓
Use-case prioritization ✗ ✗
TCO / ROI modeling ✗ ✓
AI governance & EU AI Act ✗ ✗
Build vs. buy advice ✓ ✗
Independent audit or assurance ✗ ✗
Roadmap any vendor can implement ✗ ✗
Delivery capability after advice ✓ ✓

Frameworks and platforms: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs

Framework / platform Thoughtworks RTS Labs
EU AI Act N/A N/A
GDPR N/A N/A
DORA N/A N/A
NIST AI RMF N/A N/A
ISO/IEC 42001 N/A N/A
Azure ✓ ✓
AWS ✓ ✓
Google Cloud ✓ N/A

Pricing comparison: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs

Criterion Thoughtworks RTS Labs
Minimum engagement Not disclosed $5,000+ (Clutch)
Engagement models Multi-use-case advisory, Delivery team Fixed-scope assessment, Delivery team
Rate transparency Not public Minimum disclosed
Price tier Mid-market Accessible

Target audience comparison: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs

Dimension Thoughtworks RTS Labs
Best company size Enterprise Startup to mid-market
Best industries Financial services, Retail, Healthcare Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare
Best use cases Build-or-buy decisions on AI developer tools., Data foundations before AI. Testing one AI idea cheaply., Return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal.
Typical project type Multi-use-case advisory Fixed-scope assessment

Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs: pros and cons

Thoughtworks
+ Tool opinions are public in its Technology Radar
+ Strong engineering judgment on build-or-buy
+ Data foundations expertise
- Taken private by Apax in 2024
- Thin on regulation and governance
- Advice leads naturally into delivery
RTS Labs
+ A $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest here
+ Tests ideas on real data
+ Return-on-investment check included
- No portfolio-level planning
- No EU regulatory work
- Founding year and headcount vary between sources

Who should choose Thoughtworks?

A typical fit: build-or-buy decisions on AI developer tools.

Public Technology Radar and engineering-led build-or-buy advice. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Financial services, Retail, Healthcare, Public sector.

Who should choose RTS Labs?

A typical fit: testing one AI idea cheaply.

The cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks. Minimum engagement starts at $5,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing.

Decision matrix: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs

Your situation Recommended choice
You want advice with no build contract attached Neither; write the build as a separate decision
Finance needs run costs before approving anything RTS Labs
Some of your use cases may be high-risk under the EU AI Act Neither; add a governance specialist
You need an outside check on a system already built Neither; use a dedicated auditor
You want the same firm to build what it recommends Both can deliver
Your budget is at the lower end Compare: Thoughtworks (Not disclosed) vs RTS Labs ($5,000+ (Clutch))
You need advisers in many countries at once Thoughtworks

Use case fit: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs

Use case Thoughtworks fit RTS Labs fit Winner
Build-or-buy decisions on AI developer tools. Strong Limited Thoughtworks
Data foundations before AI. Strong Limited Thoughtworks
Testing one AI idea cheaply. Limited Strong RTS Labs
Return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. Limited Strong RTS Labs

Verdict: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs

Thoughtworks (3.8/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Advisory projects. Public Technology Radar and engineering-led build-or-buy advice.

RTS Labs (3.7/5) is worth a look if you need return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. If your situation matches that, RTS Labs is a competitive option.

Related comparisons

Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs FAQ

Is Thoughtworks better than RTS Labs?

Thoughtworks (3.8/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Thoughtworks's strongest advantage: tool opinions are public in its Technology Radar. RTS Labs's strongest advantage: a $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest here.

How do Thoughtworks and RTS Labs differ in pricing?

Thoughtworks's pricing: time & materials; rates not published. RTS Labs's pricing: fixed-scope feasibility work; $25–$49/hr (Clutch band) with a minimum engagement of $5,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.

Which is better for enterprise: Thoughtworks or RTS Labs?

Thoughtworks is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each firm before shortlisting.

What are the main differences between Thoughtworks and RTS Labs?

Thoughtworks's primary differentiator is: public Technology Radar and engineering-led build-or-buy advice. RTS Labs's primary differentiator is: the cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks. They also differ in team size (~10,000 vs 100+), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $5,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Financial services, Retail vs Logistics, Financial services).

Verify all details directly with each firm before making a decision.