TÜV SÜD vs RTS Labs: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
TÜV SÜD (4.1/5) edges ahead of RTS Labs (3.7/5) overall. TÜV SÜD is the better choice for firms wanting an independent AI Act assessment. RTS Labs is the stronger option for small US firms testing one idea cheaply. The right choice depends on how independent you need the advice to be, your regulatory exposure, and your budget.
TÜV SÜD vs RTS Labs: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | TÜV SÜD | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 1866 | 2010 |
| HQ | Munich, Germany | Glen Allen, USA |
| Team size | ~28,000 | 100+ |
| Rating | 4.1 / 5 | 3.7 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Independent testing and certification of AI systems against EU AI Act requirements | The cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks |
| Pricing model | Assessment fees per system; rates on request | Fixed-scope feasibility work; $25–$49/hr (Clutch band) |
| Min. engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Primary tech stack | EU AI Act, ISO/IEC 42001 | AWS, Azure, Python |
| Industries served | Manufacturing, Automotive, Healthcare, Energy, Public sector | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing |
TÜV SÜD vs RTS Labs: overview
TÜV SÜD
TÜV SÜD traces its history to 1866 and is headquartered in Munich, with around 28,000 employees worldwide. It tests and certifies products, and its AI services assess whether a defined AI system meets EU AI Act requirements and related standards. The TÜV AI.Lab built an AI Risk Navigator that sorts systems into the Act's risk classes, and TÜV SÜD has launched a test mark for low-risk AI. It assesses instead of designing strategy, which makes it a useful independent check on someone else's work.
RTS Labs
RTS Labs, near Richmond, Virginia, says it has 100+ US-based staff (per company website; independently unverifiable); it gives 2010 as its founding year while Clutch lists 2012. Its advice comes as feasibility studies and proofs of concept with a return-on-investment check, instead of roadmaps. Clutch lists $25–$49 an hour and a $5,000+ minimum, the cheapest way on this page to test whether one idea works.
Services and capabilities: TÜV SÜD vs RTS Labs
| Capability | TÜV SÜD | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Readiness assessment | ✓ | ✓ |
| Use-case prioritization | ✗ | ✗ |
| TCO / ROI modeling | ✗ | ✓ |
| AI governance & EU AI Act | ✓ | ✗ |
| Build vs. buy advice | ✗ | ✗ |
| Independent audit or assurance | ✓ | ✗ |
| Roadmap any vendor can implement | ✗ | ✗ |
| Delivery capability after advice | ✗ | ✓ |
Frameworks and platforms: TÜV SÜD vs RTS Labs
| Framework / platform | TÜV SÜD | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| EU AI Act | ✓ | N/A |
| GDPR | N/A | N/A |
| DORA | N/A | N/A |
| NIST AI RMF | N/A | N/A |
| ISO/IEC 42001 | ✓ | N/A |
| Azure | N/A | ✓ |
| AWS | N/A | ✓ |
| Google Cloud | N/A | N/A |
Pricing comparison: TÜV SÜD vs RTS Labs
| Criterion | TÜV SÜD | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Engagement models | Audit or certification, Fixed-scope assessment | Fixed-scope assessment, Delivery team |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Minimum disclosed |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Accessible |
Target audience comparison: TÜV SÜD vs RTS Labs
| Dimension | TÜV SÜD | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Enterprise | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Manufacturing, Automotive, Healthcare | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare |
| Best use cases | Independent AI Act assessment of a product with AI inside., Risk classification of AI systems before launch. | Testing one AI idea cheaply., Return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. |
| Typical project type | Audit or certification | Fixed-scope assessment |
TÜV SÜD vs RTS Labs: pros and cons
| TÜV SÜD | |
|---|---|
| + | A testing body with no consulting or build work to sell on the same system |
| + | Risk-class tool aligned with the AI Act's categories |
| + | Low-risk AI test mark gives customers something to show |
| - | Assesses systems but doesn't plan your AI portfolio |
| - | Mostly relevant for products and regulated equipment |
| - | Large-organization processes can be slow |
| RTS Labs | |
|---|---|
| + | A $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest here |
| + | Tests ideas on real data |
| + | Return-on-investment check included |
| - | No portfolio-level planning |
| - | No EU regulatory work |
| - | Founding year and headcount vary between sources |
Who should choose TÜV SÜD?
A typical fit: independent AI Act assessment of a product with AI inside.
Independent testing and certification of AI systems against EU AI Act requirements. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Manufacturing, Automotive, Healthcare, Energy, Public sector.
Who should choose RTS Labs?
A typical fit: testing one AI idea cheaply.
The cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks. Minimum engagement starts at $5,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing.
Decision matrix: TÜV SÜD vs RTS Labs
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| You want advice with no build contract attached | TÜV SÜD |
| Finance needs run costs before approving anything | RTS Labs |
| Some of your use cases may be high-risk under the EU AI Act | TÜV SÜD |
| You need an outside check on a system already built | TÜV SÜD |
| You want the same firm to build what it recommends | RTS Labs |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: TÜV SÜD (Not disclosed) vs RTS Labs ($5,000+ (Clutch)) |
| You need advisers in many countries at once | TÜV SÜD |
Use case fit: TÜV SÜD vs RTS Labs
| Use case | TÜV SÜD fit | RTS Labs fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Independent AI Act assessment of a product with AI inside. | Strong | Limited | TÜV SÜD |
| Risk classification of AI systems before launch. | Strong | Limited | TÜV SÜD |
| Testing one AI idea cheaply. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
| Return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
Verdict: TÜV SÜD vs RTS Labs
TÜV SÜD (4.1/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Advisory projects. Independent testing and certification of AI systems against EU AI Act requirements.
RTS Labs (3.7/5) is worth a look if you need return-on-investment check on a vendor proposal. If your situation matches that, RTS Labs is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
TÜV SÜD vs RTS Labs FAQ
Is TÜV SÜD better than RTS Labs?
TÜV SÜD (4.1/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. TÜV SÜD's strongest advantage: a testing body with no consulting or build work to sell on the same system. RTS Labs's strongest advantage: a $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest here.
How do TÜV SÜD and RTS Labs differ in pricing?
TÜV SÜD's pricing: assessment fees per system; rates on request. RTS Labs's pricing: fixed-scope feasibility work; $25–$49/hr (Clutch band) with a minimum engagement of $5,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.
Which is better for enterprise: TÜV SÜD or RTS Labs?
TÜV SÜD is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each firm before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between TÜV SÜD and RTS Labs?
TÜV SÜD's primary differentiator is: independent testing and certification of AI systems against EU AI Act requirements. RTS Labs's primary differentiator is: the cheapest entry point here, with feasibility tests in place of strategy decks. They also differ in team size (~28,000 vs 100+), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $5,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Manufacturing, Automotive vs Logistics, Financial services).
Verify all details directly with each firm before making a decision.